2017 Pitch Wars Intro!

Hello Pitch Wars hopefuls! Before you go browsing for my genre: I’m already working with my lovely mentee from TeenPit, so I will not be accepting slush in PW 2017. (Though perhaps you might find a piece of the scavenger hunt here!) I’ll also be hopping around the hashtag, and am more than happy to answer Pitch Wars questions! I was a mentee in 2014, 2015, and was in quite a few other contests, so I’ve been around the block. (Evidence here.) If you have any questions you don’t quite want to ask a mentor you might sub, or anything for a veteran to answer, hit me up here, on Twitter, anywhere.

I’ve been a writer for many years, written too many books, and way too many short stories. I work primarily in fantasy, mostly of the YA variety. Give me dragons and diversity any day of the week! My two favorite authors (who can ever pick one?) are Laini Taylor and Diana Wynne Jones, and you’ll find a lot of their influence in my work. As I mentioned above, I’ve been through the wringer with contests and agents and writing in general, so it’s still a little surreal to say I’m agented by my amazing agent, Samantha Wekstein of Writers House, and that I have a graphic novel out, Sacrifices of Shadow. Having come so far, being able to give back to the community as a mentor is living the dream! Especially my experience as a mentor in TeenPit, and getting to continue mentoring Sophia into PW. If you’re curious about her novel, here’s the pitch from her entry, a YA fantasy:

Scout enrolls in demon hunting school for one reason: to destroy the devil that killed her. But her second life is cursed. Part of the devil is inside her, keeping her alive, and it wants to wreak havoc. To save the world – and her new love – Scout must destroy the devil, but if it dies, so will she.

Sophia’s a Vietnamese American writer who was adopted when she was just a baby. She’s enrolled at an early entrance to college program but is still technically a high schooler. Upon graduating she’ll receive her high school diploma plus an associate’s degree so she spends most of her time writing on breaks. She writes really weird dark fantasy and A Pool of Dead Butterflies is her fifth novel!

She’s been hard at work with some pretty heavy revisions, and is taking the new direction (blue) with more enthusiasm and talent than I ever would have dreamed. Seriously, I can’t wait for the world to be able to read her book!

Now that I’m done rambling, here’s a link to all the wishlists if you want to check them out!

Good luck in your Pitch Wars stalking, hopefuls! You’ve got this!!! And like I said, if you have any questions, feel free to hurl them at me.

Bacon, out.

Weekend WIP: A Little Bit of Broadtrip

Since I’m jumping back into drafting, when I saw the #8sunday bloghop on Weekend Writing Warriors (check out the rest of the authors on the hop!), it seemed like perfect motivation to keep me going. I’ll be posting a few sentences from whatever I’m working on to keep me accountable, and show you guys what I’m up to.

This week, here’s the opening sentences to Broadtrip (bro-roadtip or broad-trip, either words–and yes, it needs a better name):

People always warn not to get involved with wild serpents.

Thing is, those people have obviously never met me.

A black streak floats lazily in the distance, a serpent sunning itself. I’ve never seen a black serpent. The serpents at home range from all sorts of blues and greens — like mine, Nuci, pale green scales with deep blue stripes — and wild ones are sometimes paler, the color of sand and seafoam. But never black.

Which means I have to have it.

I pat Nuci’s side twice, and they slide quietly down into the water, me clinging tight to their back. The thing with wild serpents is that they will always see you coming from the side. It took about a dozen attempts to find their weakness — not like I’ve ever really succeeded in getting on one, per say, but this time is going to be different.

So, what do you think? What are you working on this weekend—writing or otherwise? If you have your own excerpt, feel free to share so I can check it out!

Bacon, out.

An Interview of Sorts with Hayley Stone

Today I have Hayley Stone (author of MACHINATIONS and its sequel, COUNTERPART) on the blog, delving into the dragon’s den to answer some questions that may or may not be a little random and/or crazy.

Let’s get into the guts of it, shall we?

What’s the weirdest place you’ve written about?

In a trunked zombie YA novel, I wrote about a hedonistic club for the infected (those who would transform into zombies shortly) where entry required showing your bite mark. Inside, there were also zombies in dancer cages suspended from the ceiling and a lot of nasty stuff going on.

It sounds bizarre, but it was supposed to be based off of the crazy parties European nobility had during the black death, their one last huzzah before the end. In hindsight, I’m not even sure that actually happened, historically speaking. I think I was confusing history with an Edgar Allen Poe story, but anyway. It was pretty weird.

What’s your favorite word?

This is going to sound weird, but I really like the word blood. There is something visceral about it that I think calls back to its very definition, as being something intrinsic to the human body. It’s also amenable to metaphor, and always stands out in a sentence. Kind of like the word sex. (I bet your eyes sprang to it just now, right?)

Favorite writing snack?

Honestly, I don’t typically snack and write at the same time. I’m more likely to be drinking something—water, chai tea, or Coke.

If you could have lunch with one of your characters, which one, where would you go, and what would you order?

Oh, I’d definitely have lunch with Rhona. Probably somewhere casual with burgers, because it’s been years since she’s had fast food and would probably appreciate that. I think I’d also like to take her somewhere bustling with people—a reminder of the world she’s fighting to return to in her universe.

If you got sucked into a wormhole through time and space, what time/place would you HOPE to end up on the other side?

As tempting as it would be to go into the past, the idea of being stranded there is not appealing in the slightest. I’d hope the wormhole would deposit me in a bright, exciting future where mankind has colonized

What (artificially intelligent) kitchen appliance would you most want as your sidekick during a robot apocalypse?

My instinct was to say a KitchenAid, because you could probably fit all sorts of weapon attachments onto it, and it could also bludgeon someone to death. But I’m not sure how it would get around its lack of mobility—the thing is so heavy!

So maybe a hand mixer instead? A hand mixer of death!!!

If you were a dragon, what would you collect and guard in your hoard?

Books. Oh, wait… *glances at huge TBR collection*

Leaving aside all forms of literature, I’d probably collect Funko Pops. Those things are adorable.

What kind of apocalypse would you MOST want to see/experience end the world?

Zombie apocalypse, no question. First, I think The Walking Dead’s portrayal is entirely too cynical; I believe people would band together fairly quickly, reestablishing society to protect themselves. Second, I already judge buildings for their ability to withstand a zombie horde, so I think I’d do all right.

This may come as a surprise, but robot apocalypse actually comes in third on my list, right after alien invasion. Because ALIENS.

What kind of apocalypse would you LEAST want to see/experience end the world?

A global epidemic of some kind. I hate being sick—plus I’m a slight hypochondriac—so even if I wasn’t infected, I would probably worry about it 24/7 and complain that I’m dying at least once a day.

 

HAYLEY STONE

hayley-stone_author-photo_1-resizeHayley Stone has lived her entire life in sunny California, where the weather is usually perfect and nothing as exciting as a robot apocalypse ever happens. When not reading or writing, she freelances as a graphic designer, falls in love with videogame characters, and analyzes buildings for velociraptor entry points. She holds a bachelor’s degree in history and a minor in German from California State University, Sacramento. Counterpart is her second novel, and a choice for Amazon’s Best Sci-fi and Fantasy Books of the Month for October.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr | Pinterest

 

COUNTERPART

counterpart_stoneThe high-intensity sci-fi thriller series that began with Machinations continues as reincarnated insurgent Rhona Long faces off against the one enemy she can’t outwit: her own clone.

The machines believed their extermination of the human race would be over as quickly as it began. They were wrong. As the war against extinction intensifies, people are beginning to gain the upper hand.

Commander Rhona Long understands survival better than most. Killed in combat, she was brought back to life using her DNA, and she’s forged a new, even more powerful identity. Now the leader of the resistance, she’s determined to ensure the machines are shut down for good.

But victory is elusive. The machines have a new technology designed to overcome humanity’s most advanced weaponry. Despite Rhona’s peacekeeping efforts, former nations are feuding over resources as old power struggles resurface. Worse, someone inside the resistance is sabotaging the human cause—someone who, from all appearances, seems to be Rhona . . . or her exact replica.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

 

There you have it! Awesome words from an awesome author. Now go check out her impossibly more awesome books.

Bacon, out.

Bus

 

 

Cover Reveal: Machinations by Hayley Stone

I’m THRILLED to be a part of the cover reveal for this novel! Hayley is a fellow Pitch Wars allum,  and I happen to know she’s an amazing person AND author. Here’s the blurb about her book:

Perfect for fans of Robopocalypse, this action-packed science-fiction debut introduces a chilling future and an unforgettable heroine with a powerful role to play in the battle for humanity’s survival.

The machines have risen, but not out of malice. They were simply following a command: to stop the endless wars that have plagued the world throughout history. Their solution was perfectly logical. To end the fighting, they decided to end the human race.

A potent symbol of the resistance, Rhona Long has served on the front lines of the conflict since the first Machinations began—until she is killed during a rescue mission gone wrong. Now Rhona awakens to find herself transported to a new body, complete with her DNA, her personality, even her memories. She is a clone . . . of herself.

Trapped in the shadow of the life she once knew, the reincarnated Rhona must find her place among old friends and newfound enemies—and quickly. For the machines are inching closer to exterminating humans for good. And only Rhona, whoever she is now, can save them.

AND NOW… THE AMAZING COVER!

Machinations Final Cover

Pre-order Machinations today!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

And don’t forget to add it to your list on Goodreads!

hayley stone author photoHayley Stone has lived her entire life in sunny California, where the weather is usually perfect and nothing as exciting as a robot apocalypse ever happens. When not reading or writing, she freelances as a graphic designer, falls in love with videogame characters, and analyzes buildings for velociraptor entry points. She holds a bachelor’s degree in history and a minor in German from California State University, Sacramento.
Machinations is her debut novel, releasing June 14th, 2016 from Hydra/Random House.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr | Pinterest

Bacon, out

Bus